All about the trials and tribulations of living with Phenylketonuria


I was going through my stack of recipes for a friend last night and I came across this recipe for a low protein chocolate cake that I had. It’s good! Really good! In fact I’m not entirely sure why I haven’t made it more often (wait, yes I am… I was pregnant and didn’t think I could control my chocolate cravings if I had anything chocolatey in the house lol).

I thought I had blogged this recipe quite a while ago but I’ve gone back through the site and I can’t find it so I’m posting it for you now.

I am not sure where the original recipe for this chocolate cake came from, but I know it has been around for a while and it’s delicious. This recipe is not free, and the protein content is entirely dependent on the brand of cocoa you use, so make sure you calculate it before you start eating.

The cake is rich, most and light in texture – my husband (non PKU) loved them and I ahve served them to non-PKU friends who didn’t seem to notice they weren’t normal high protein cupcakes! I found the cooking times in the recipe weren’t that accurate and that I had to cook my cupcakes for a lot longer than stated in the recipe, though this may be because I used silicon cupcake cases instead of paper cases (and had never used them before nor since!). Make sure you don’t skimp on the sifting/whisking step as that is part of what makes this cake recipe so darn good!

This chocolate cake is light, moist and best of all it's low pro!

Ingredients
6 tbsp oil
2 tbsp cocoa
1.5 cups of Loprofin
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup of cold water or coffee
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp vinegar
1 tsp salt

Method
Pre-heat oven to 175 degrees C

Sift the Loprofin into a bowl. Add the remaining dry ingredients and whisk together (the whisk is important as it helps to keep the air in the mixture).

Add all liquid ingredients and mix on high with an electric mixer until the batter is nice and smooth.
Pour the mixture into a cake tin or cupcake cases.

Bake at 175 degrees C for 35 – 40 minutes for a cake, or 20 – 30 minutes for cupcakes. The cake is done when a skewer comes out clean. Decorate as desired and don’t forget… you can have some fun with it! This recipe freezes well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

