All about the trials and tribulations of living with Phenylketonuria


I’ve been doing my best to eat healthier, more filling and more nourishing food lately and as part of that I’ve got a stack of recipes I have either come up with or tried. This recipe was inspired by a meal one of my PKU friends from Ireland told me about and I have

Sweet Potato and Parsnip Curry

added my own tweaks to it to suit my tastes. You aren’t limited to the vegetables I have used – you could use anything you like and even add chilli for a spicy kick! I hope you enjoy it – I will post a picture of this recipe soon – I was more interested in eating this than taking pictures of it and blogging it was an afterthought. This recipe makes enough to freeze 2 additional large portions.

Ingredients
2 small or 1 large sweet potatoes, chopped
1 parsnip, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
2 x tinned chopped tomatoes or you could use fresh tomatoes
1 Knorr Beef stockpot (or a crushed beef stock cube)
Half an onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely sliced or crushed
1 heaped teaspoon of mild curry powder
Water (use your judgement on this one)
Measured dollop of coconut yoghurt if available/allowed (to serve)

Method

  1. Sautee the onions and garlic in low calorie cooking spray (eg Fry Light) until translucent.
  2. Add the stockpot, sweet potato, parsnip and carrot. Stir the stockpot in until it melts and let cook just for a minute or two.
  3. Add the tomatoes and curry powder, stir then simmer until the vegetables are tender.
  4. To serve, add a measured dollop of coconut yoghurt if allowed. I use 2 exchanges worth of Rachel’s Organic Greek Style Coconut Yoghurt.
  5. Serve with low pro rice or an allowed amount of boiled brown rice.
Comments on: "Healthy recipe: Sweet potato and parsnip curry" (3)

  1. Hi Kate,

    Do you mind if I copy this recipe to my blog…this looks really awesome. I hope all is well with you. I am so new to the blogging thing…..I am trying out something new….but I wont have it completely ready for awhile. I will let you know what I am going to be getting into later. Talk to you soon. Moya

    • Sure, Moya! Go for it :) The easiest way is to reblog it – along the top WordPress menu (on my computer it is a black menu bar) there will be a Reblog button.
      Hope you’re doing well! x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

